£500 budget

BritneyDean

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello.

I would like to ask your opinion please...

I'm new to photography and am ready to buy something better than my fujifilm 'dlsr style' bridge camera...

I have a budget of £500 to spend on a DSLR camera.
What would you recommend? I would like to buy brand new with 18mm-55mm lens if poss.

AND then also, please keep in mind, that soon, I would like to purchase a decent wide angle lens and a fish-eye. TOTAL spend of camera+ lens and the extra 2 lenses, around £800.

Is this possible? What gear would you recommend for me please?

Would just to note, I will mainly be taking Portrait and Landscape pictures.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and for any time you spend replying :)

Nikon D3100. Great hardware, good optics and there are a zillion older manual lenses on ebay that will fit for the fisheye and, say, a 35mm for later.

Nikon D3100 Digital SLR with 18-55mm VR Lens (VBA280K001) - Wex Photographic

Thank you for your reply!
Do you know much about the Nikon D3200 too? Only because, someone elseware pointed it out to me this week and I know it's more expensive than the D3100 but the D3200 is still in my price range.
Would you say it'd be worth paying the extra for the D3200?
I'm going to have a look and compare the two myself the best I can. But any input from you would be really greatfull received.

Thank you :)

I strongly suggest against buying a fisheye until you have more experience with other more conventional lenses.

Unless you can find one for like $50-100, in which case, whatever, go for it. (Usually they're much more expensive than that though, and people tend to use them 10 times and then they gather dust)