5D MKII should I?

Foxtrot_01

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all, I think everyone is bored of reading a post about the 5DMKII being discontinued and selling at $1799 but I am hoping to get some help deciding either to get one or not.

So this is my background, I am an amateur photographer, I do glamour and beach shots, I live in Miami so I get all the sun and scenery anyone can dream of. I also have a home studio that doubles as my living room, I just bought 3 flashpoint 320's, prior to that I used and still use 285Hv off camera flashes(4).
Last year I bought a 28-70 2.8L and a 70-200 2.8L, I have a nifty-fifty(1.8) and a 28-105 3.5. Lastly I have a 40D body.
It has been a desire of mine to get another body since last year I was about to do a beach shoot with a playboy model and as I was about to start the shoot the infamous "err99" came out, I can say it was one of the most embarrassing moments, we had to cancel the shoot, next time we tried to reschedule and she wasnt available, a month passed by and she was signed to a local model agency.
After that bad experience I usually take my sister's Canon T3i with me as backup.
My brother in law just bought the 5DMKII, actually I just took it to him back to South America where he lives, he saw the price and took the plunge. He called me last night and said I should get one, he is upgrading from a T2i, he has similar lenses.

So bottom line, any opinions on should I get this 5DMKII, should I entertain the 6D or even the 7D or stay put?

I know some people say that I should invest in glass, which I did with the two L lenses that I have, I also invested in my lights.
Any input is much appreciated.

Well, I tell you, that 5D-II's 22 MP FF sensor does make nice images....it really,really does. And FF is idea for 35mm system lenses and glamour/figure/portrait/event work...

Either a 5D-II or a 6D would be a nice addition!!!! 28-70, 70-200, on 5D-II for glamour/figure/beach??? Ummmm, YES!!!!!!!!!!!!