60D.. a camera for a beginner to grow into?

troper24

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have been shooting since I first bought my camera almost 3 years ago (not a dslr) and have taken basic photography classes. In terms of photography, not a total beginner, as for DSLR photography "yes".

-I Have looking for a camera (canon/nikon) that will allow me to learn but also grow into my abilities. In basic terms I want a camera that will suit me but not be limiting my abilities later on.

-For some reason I always seem to be coming back to the Canon 60d. My price range is tight, $1500 is the MAX. I really like the d7000 but its over $300 out of my comfort zone.

-Would the 60d suit me as someone relatively new to DSLR's and continue to adapt with my abilities as i learn more?

"Big reason"**I have also heard alot of bad things about the 60d..why do so many people contest to it?

Any input is valued...thankyou

Look at the comparison of the D7000's high-ISO performance versus the 60D at dPreview...the D7000,and the Pentax K5, are both made with a new-generation electronics that create MUCH, MUCH lower read noise, leading to wider dynamic range, and less digital noise at elevated ISO settings, and overall better image quality. Yes, the D7000 costs more money than the 60D, but it appears to be a significantly better camera and better sensor...

Honestly, with these two new cameras from Nikon and Pentax, the 60D suddenly looks dead in the water to me, passed up and left for dead by the competing models. And no, I do not think it's a camera for a beginner to grow into...I think it will be a short-lived model, as Canon scrambles to catch up to Nikon and Pentax's far better sensor performance.