8 yr old monitor a bad idea?

jbarrettash

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I am setting up my Epson 3880 and running photoshop cs5 and lightroom 3 on my macbook pro, and have been looking into options for a good quality monitor (with eyes on the big price items when I can afford it). I am a research nut, like most of you out there, and was surprised to find out the Dell Ultrasharp line are widely considered excellent cheaper alternatives to the photo/graphics specific monitors out there, having comparable gamuts, contrast ratios and colour fidelity to at least some of the "big boys".

I have an older ultrasharp and was wondring if it is worth my while to start out with this. I am an avid amateur with 20+ yrs of dark room experience who makes his living as a cinematographer, and work with professional colour grading facilities regularly, so my standards are naturally very high, but I am trying to strike a balance, like some of you surely, between perfection and a perfectly empty wallet....

Some details:

-the monitor is 8 yrs old, though this is the first time it has been used in about 4 or 5 yrs.
-it is a Dell ultrasharp1905FP
-1280x1024 (that's right, square, so there is some compromise using it in conjunction with my mb pro 1680x1050, but only in ease of use between the two)
- DVI out to DVI to miniport adapter into the mb pro
-calibrated with the spyder2 (suite edition), also 8 yrs old
-my aim is to set up a digital darkroom using all the tools and software listed above, to print the highest quality colour and black and white portrait, travel and landscape prints to a maximum size of 17x22 inches, and to be able (obviously! :) ) to match my screen as closely as possible to my printer output.
-the prints will be made from RAW images shot with my nikon D80 (yes, a new digital camera is long overdue) and 35mm negs scanned on a nikon super coolscan 5000

So my question is: