-A big 'Hi' from India -

Navin.Dr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I'm Navin, 33/ m, a doctor by profession. A writer of songs and poems and music. And I thought that was where my creativity ended. Sure, I've taken a lot of pictures on smartphones much as the rest of the world, but the DSLR bug bit me when we docs were out on a trip to Yelagiri - a hillside retreat in the south of India and an anaesthetist colleague of mine thrust his canon 1100D in my hands. A few pics and a few clicks later, I would go on to become an addict. I scoured youtube videos, articles, blogs and read a lot on photography, went and got myself a Nikon d5200 with an 18-55mm kit lens. Then later acquired a 50mm nikkor prime lens. Started a whatsapp group called 'fotografia' and added about 20 people who had DSLR's and started sharing pics. All this was 2 months ago. Barring one or two, the whatsapp group is'nt very active. Not many critiques or technical inputs coming in. I was mistaken in my belief that every DSLR owner is a photography buff. So, as it seemed when my self-improvement in photography had hit a roadblock, I hit upon this idea of joining a photo-blog / forum, and here I am.

I have a whole bunch of pictures to upload and an agonizingly slow internet connection to boot - so help me y'all. What do I post, where do I post, and can I compress, to what extent, etc etc. I seem to veer a lot in my interests in photography. Some landscapes, some portraits, some macro work, etc etc. Still don't have a single focus in photography - maybe I never will.

Anyway, Here I am, hope to learn, contribute and progress.

Cheers.

DSC_0226.jpg
DSC_0228.jpg

Welcome!

Yes, you can compress, but I have found that if you simply resize a JPG to 1024 on a side, they will upload just fine.