A Father's Safety - Strange Place

jcdeboever

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was asked to do a photo shoot at a non-profit, cancer research themed, fashion show. I insisted on not being paid, as I am not a professional and would like to gain the experience at event shooting. My argument, I wanted to learn from the experience of capturing images in uncontrolled light. They insisted on paying me a nominal fee to do the event based on past work at a couple other events, for people that were associated to the event. I declined to do it for pay because I wanted the experience. I also explained that I didn't want to take professional work away from local artist for my benefit. They said I would be the only photog there, agreed not to pay me, and I was golden.

I got there and there were three other photogs there. Man, they were so rude to me. One guy gave me some attitude but I gave him a look and he crapped his pants, hint... never walk up to a guy who will beat you bad if you threaten him... you never know who you are messing with. I didn't sign up for that. I never would have done that show if I would have known other photogs were there. I shot 64 digital images and 12 film. That has to be the most I ever shot in a day. Holy crap, I couldn't believe I shot that many frames.

Anyway, here is my favorite. This is digital, XP2, 35mm 1.4, Acros simulation, almost sooc, had to crop. My good bud was in the pic, the dude with the gold chain.

A Father's Safety.jpg

Last edited:
Sadly no good deed goes unpunished, nice shot my friend... @jcdeboever !

@jcdeboever I know it isn't much consolation for now but one day the score will be tallyed and I have every reason to believe you will be well into the positive side of the ledger. Great capture of an emotional moment in time.