A few "portraits", beginner here

bambino

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all!

Hope you devote some time to criticise these "portraits", don't be shy to be harsh with me, I have a thick skin and I think this is the way to learn. I took these portraits with entry level Canon DSLR and kit lens, no flash, no reflectors, no post-processing, no filters, no shades, nothing (well, just cropping them here and there). Models are my friends who asked me to take them photos on the run and with little thinking/planning. Mostly candid photos (specially the ones from the wedding). I took these photos some time ago and as I keep learning, I realize how many wrongs and mistakes are in them. What Im most interested is about composition. Some are defocused, some need fill light, some are overexposed, some have the wrong DOF, etc, etc but what about composition, idea? Thanks all

Attachments

• $Canon_5.jpg
    $Canon_5.jpg
    133.6 KB · Views: 160
Last edited:
My small opinion on composition is that it is irrelevant without supporting technical aspects, like lighting, DOF, and basic geometry--all of the elements that hold the image together to form a unit. It is really difficult to just critique composition when technical aspects are so far off because with a different technical set of elements, the same composition may work in some cases.

Having said that, and given what you mentioned about lack of planning and processing, well I can tell. They look like snapshots taken by a friend with a camera. My suggestion is to do all of the things you did not do with these images: plan, process, bring additional equipment unless you are sure you can get by without it, don't shoot candids unless the occasion calls for it. In essence, have as much control over every element as you possibly can. That way you can measure your choices and how well they worked.