What lenses to bring on a trip to Italy in the Fall?

10acres

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a noob to photography and wanting to learn. I’m just looking to become a better amateur photographer for our future trips. I took a trip last year to Alaska and thought our phones would suffice. Boy I was sorely mistaken. Fortunately, my niece brought her camera and was able to capture some spectacular photos.

I will not make that mistake again. I now have the following equipment and am wondering what would be best lenses to bring with me.

Canon EOS Rebel T6i
Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM
Canon EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM
Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM
Sigma 17-50mm f/2.8
Canon 55-250 f/4-5.6 IS STM
Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8 DX

We will be spending time inside and outside. I don’t want to pack everything, so what would you recommend to bring and please explain why. Once I pick which lenses, I plan on trying to get used to them better before our trip to Italy.

Thanks in advance.

(unallowed amazon affiliate link removed by a moderator)

Last edited:
Can only offer general non-brand advice. Pack light, minimize fuss swapping lenses. A wide zoom and a 35 to 50mm prime might do it.

The Sigma for sure. That’s a nice focal range for travel photos on a crop sensor and the 2.8 will be great to have indoors. I’d also bring the 55-200 if you’ll be outside the cities at all and one of the primes, probably the 24mm, for when you want to be more discreet and travel light/small.

These recommendations are mostly based on the focal ranges and apertures listed, I’ve never used Canon. When I shot Nikon crop sensor, I had a Sigma 17-70 and it was my go to for travel.