A few questions...

FoundMyCamera

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all...just introduced myself in the intro section and wanted to get a few questions in.

I currently have a Canon EOS Digital Rebel...bought in 2003...one of the firsts, I believe? Only 6.3 mp. Before that I used the Canon EOS 35mm, so it was a smooth transition of hardware.

*Lenses....I currently am using a Quantaray 17-200mm 1:3.5 - 6.3. I purchased it a year ago at a great price, I had always wanted a wide angle, and this seemed to have it all...wide-zoom, although at the time I was clueless about fast/slow lenses, seems to me now that I've read up a bit, this isn't the fastest lens in the world. I do have trouble getting a crisp image (although I did discover this is due in part to camera shake), so this weekend I studied this forum and have been playing more with my aperture, ISO, steadiness...has made a difference. HOWEVER, it left me with these questions...

-Are Quantarays good lenses? I got it because of a good price, and had a few with my Canon 35mm that gave me no problem.

-Is a prime lens or shorter range lens going to give me a sharper image? I.E, is 50mm on a 50mm prime sharper than 50mm on a 18-200mm, or it doesn't matter?

-Any recommendations with filters? I had a standard UV filter, but bought a polarizing filter(is that really necessary now with post processing?) for a trip to Zion NP....worked great. Used the same polarizing filter at Yosemite last week and my photos were so-so. Would a lens hood be better for photos and lens protection?