A few specific questions before purchase

jvgig

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am finally about to pull the trigger on my first camera purchase. I was almost completely sold on the 40d, but since then, the xsi has come out which also has spot metering, but is a step behind the 40d in many other areas. I plan to use this camera on my summer trips to Italy and France, the Grand Cayman islands, and several other day/weekend trips up and down the east coast to document the areas I visit. I will also be taking sports photography, some portraits, and macro work. This upcoming school year I will be attending a film school, and to compliment my videos, I would like to be able to take artistic pictures to display at local art shows where I also display my paintings (hopefully I will even sell a few to help offset the costs). Therefore, the larger that I can print the better. I am a beginner when it comes to photography, but learn fast and am very artistically inclined which provides a solid foundation in lighting and composition. I am also signed up to take a b&w film photography course at my school next year. I plan to take about 10,000 pictures this upcoming summer, just for a volume reference. Is the extra cost of the 40d worth the features for my use?