A Lighting Problem

Camile

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello. I am an amateur and have been doing several experiments with photography but I've found a problem that really annoys. My relative is my model, she has a really skinny and bonny face with deep eyelids. Everytime I take a photography of her the corner around the eyes ends up very dark. It doesn't mater if it's potrait or fullbody. I am using no spotlight. Should I? If so where should I place it so it won't look to much artificial? We've tried to get rid of the unwanted darkness with editings and make up, but neither works.

An example picture would help, but it sounds like you need some sort of fill light. I don't know what equipment or budget you have, but if you're like me, it's not much of either. I would use a speedlight (hotshoe flash) and have it so it bounces light off of something (a white wall or ceiling). You don't want to flash directly on their face, you'll get harsh shadows. If you can purchase a diffuser or a strobe with a softbox, it would probably work better.

I have a sony dslr-a100... does this info makes sense? Is this a good camera? I will see if i can purchase a softbox, looks exactly like what I need. Thank you!

A softbox wouldn't work on it's own. You would need a modifier to create a large light source from a small one, something like a shoot through umbrella, and a light powerful enough to use with whatever settings you're using. Preferably an off camera speed light. That or a strong enough main light source that would allow the use of a reflector under the subject to counter act the shadows on the face from the lighting coming from above the subject.

What is your budget?

Start cheap, and add equipment when you don't like the results. A hot-shoe flash set to "fill" should do the trick. If it looks harsh, use the flash compensator to lower the output. This will allow you to keep the flash on-camera and works well outside where shadows created by your flash shouldn't be an issue.