A little CC on these flower photos, Please

Scott Whaley

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I think most everyone on this forum knows I am a birder and wildlife photographer. I have been trying to branch out and try different things. Here are a few photos of some flowers around our pond. I am using my Canon 7D mkii with the stock lens. I am shooting at around 1/200 sec., the F-stop is a 11, and the ISO is at 800. I set the camera to under expose a few stops. In post processing I raised the contrast in order to darken the background on the yellow flowers and raised the shadows a bit. I really didn't do much post processing on the orange flowers. What type of suggestions do you have in making these photos better?

Flower 3 (1 of 1).jpg

Flower 2 (1 of 1).jpg

Flower 4 (1 of 1).jpg

Flower 8 (1 of 1).jpg

I think compositionally they are all pretty good, with 3 being the strongest. The water droplets look good and add a bit of complexity to the shots.

1 and 2 still look underexposed to me. I'd have liked to see the top of the stamen of the background flower in 1 as it would provide a break between the top of the image helping to keep the eye in the frame. Ideally in 1 and 2 you wouldn't want any yellow touching the sides of the frame, it's not always possible to do, and if it can't be avoided then localised burning and/or desaturation can help de-ephasise those areas.

3 and 4 look a bit oversaturated in the green and orange, possibly a bit too much contrast as well. In 4 I'd consider just slightly burning the orange in the background flowers, just to help subtly bring the eye back to the centre.

Overall these are pretty solid shots, interesting and a nice use of colour.

I would agree, all seem a tad under exposed :( maybe consider using an off camera flash

Les :)

I would agree, all seem a tad under exposed :( maybe consider using an off camera flash