A Newbie's Question about Aperture

Felix_Infelix

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there, I'm new to photography as well as this forum, so I'm sorry if this question is a bit stupid!

I had been wondering about the use of large apertures in landscape photography. I know the general rule is to use around F11 or smaller when shooting landscapes so as to achieve maximum depth of field, but I am unsure if there is a reason why not to use larger apertures under certain circumstances.

Say I am using a wide angle lens at 12mm, and have my tripod set up on an overhang of rock so nothing closer than a few meters away is in the frame - if I set my aperture to 4.5 and focus at infinity won't everything be in focus (as there is nothing close enough to be out of focus)? Will I not get the exact same depth of field that I would achieve with F11?

I imagine I'm missing something pretty obvious, hope someone can help - thanks!

It's all about sharpness.

Most lenses are sharpest in the middle apertures. check the reviews and specs for your lens, and then try to shoot in it's "sharpness sweet spot" aperture range. At least for landscapes.

It's all about sharpness and acheiving the end result you want. Generally speaking landscapes are shot with maximum DoF, however there might well be a reason that you don't want the full image in focus. Taking into account that DoF consists of areas that are [very] roughly equal in front of and behind the point of focus, you may want to focus somewhere other than the actual subject to achieve the DoF and look you want. Check out this calculator for more information.