A student considering switching Nikon for Canon.

chyidean

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Right now my kit is sparse. It consists of:

Nikon D90
16-85mm f/3.5-5.6 Nikkor
50mm f/1.8 Nikkor

I'm mainly getting into concert photography where low light and high ISOs reign supreme. The D90 is superb for low light, and coupled with the 50mm f/1.8, it's quite killer. I'm feeling a little bit limited by the prime though. Variable focal length would be really nice. (I don't even bother using the 16-85mm unless I have time for a crowd shot or something since the f/3.5-5.6 needs seriously high ISO).

So I've been looking at the 24-70mm f/2.8 Nikkor and prices are consistently around $1800 (I'd consider going third party, but I'm a student, and resale value is pretty important to me). Yet the Canon 24-70mm f/2.8 (and other pro lens) is/are significantly cheaper than their Nikon counterparts.

Canon -
24-70mm f/2.8 - $1300
70-200mm f/2.8 IS - $1750

Nikon -
24-70mm f/2.8 - $1800
70-200mm f/2.8 - $2400

It kind of got me thinking - since Canon pro lens are cheaper by a couple hundred dollars than the Nikons, it might be in my best interest to switch to Canon and save more in the long run as I acquire more and more pro lens. And if I switch right now, it's probably the best time to do so - none of my lens are particularly expensive.

What are your thoughts? Would I stand to gain anything if I stayed with Nikon and bought the 24-70mm f/2.8 and worked my way towards acquiring the "holy trinity"?

I guess what I'm trying to say is, are both Nikon and Canon lenses of the same image quality? Because if they are the same, wouldn't Canon be undoubtedly the better buy? (Since their bodies are pretty much competing neck to neck, differences should be negligible, right?)

Last edited:
Haha. You have just opened a big can of worms here!