Accessories for D3100

Mia331

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Does anyone have any suggestions on where to buy a lens filter? I am not looking for anything fancy at this point as I am a beginner and just got my D3100. I wanted to get something to help protrect the lens so it doesnt get scratched as I get out and start shooting a bit more.

Is there a general or basic filter you would suggest? I thought about ordering the Vivitar UV Protective & Polorarizer lenses through Staples for $25 but thought I would try some suggestions to see if they would work or if it's a mistake?

Also, I wanted to get the hard plastic LCD screen protection, any tips where to get one or should I just go with the sticky protectors like you can get for a cell phone?

Thanks & I can't wait to start posting photos for some CC!

What kind of shooting do you expect to do that will risk scratching your lens?

The glass the front lens element is made of is very tough, and it has anti-scratch coatings on it.

In addition, using the supplied lens hood will not only add contrast to your photos, it will also offer a measure of 'protection' to your front lens element.

Cheap UV filters used for protection will make your photos look worse, by softening the focus, reducing the contrast in your photos, and promoting lens flare.

I have a f2.8 24-70 and Tokina 11-16 that that will never see a "protection" style filter.

I'm not going to buy half decent lenses and then jack with a chance of reducing clarity in pics. Maybe thats just me though
bigthumb.gif