Action photographer - Needs DSLR and doesn't know where to start!

irish-ii

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've finally decided to take the plunge into the world of DSLRs...I recently got my newest point and shoot, a Nikon L20, which has been working wonders for artistic photography, but I'm setting up my photography business and realize I really need to upgrade =)

I'm a horse show photographer, along with other animals and horses (horse shows primarily). I need a camera that can capture split second moments between the horse and rider, and so that my clients receive high qualities photos of their show memories.

The tricky part is...and you'll probably know what I mean...is that I can't afford anything much. My budget is $350, yes, lense and all. I have a future horse to support as well as school.

My family has always had Nikons and we absolutely love them...no problems there whatsoever. So, I'd really like to get a Nikon, but I'm coming to the realization that I can't find a new-ish Nikon in my price range.
I like canons and I tried out my friend's Rebel while she was here for a week, so currently on my top list is Canon Rebel XT and Nikon D70.
Family has a D70 that I'm going to try out a bit, but the problems with this one are that its only 6 megapixels, where as I'd like to be printing larger shots for clients to frame and still retain image quality. Plus the minor fact that the viewing screen is pretty tiny xD

Can anyone help me? I know I have a lot of requirements, but I've hardly ever used or even owned a DSLR before and need some help...I want to get just the right one.
Canon Rebel or Nikon? Tough choices...

Feedback from you experienced DSLR photographers would be fabulous ;) Thanks!