ADVICE NEEDED - Nighttime race

Ripskip

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have the opportunity to go shoot the first ever Motocross National to be held at night, under the lights in Lakewood, CO.

I am relatively new to photography and have been studying hard to learn the relationship between aperture, ISO, shutter speed etc and how to manipulate them to the best possible outcome. I am currently shooting a Nikon D70 with a Nikkor 55-200 f/4.5-5.6 VR lens.

Now, I can forsee this nighttime race presenting quite a photographic challenge. Fast motion, relatively low light, and the long end of the zoom range. I am trying to scrounge up the funds for a 70-200 f/2.8 before next week but i'm not sure it's going to happen. Any advice? I would think an external flash would certainly be of assistance, along with the 2.8 lens if I could come up with it in time. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

For sure the faster the glass the better for this situation. If you're going to be shooting at telephoto ranges, are you sure your flash will reach?

No, i'm really not sure. I haven't shot an external flash before, so I don't know what type of range to expect. I'll try to dig up some examples of shots from indoor night time races so you guys can get a rough idea of what it would be like.

if you're shooting at 200mm, I really doubt a speedlight is going to do much good at the distances that you're probably going to be at.

You can get 80-200 f2.8 AF-D's off craigslist for usually about $500-$600 and brand new for $800. Now their screwdriver lenses so the AF-C focusing isn't really the best, but if you keep it in AF-S and just tap the shutter when you're getting ready to take the shot, the focus will nail it everytime and it should be fast enough.