Advice

Lacrossedad

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok, so I spent some money on new equipment after being away from photography for awhile. Now that I had gotten over the shock of the money I spent on camera and glass, now I find my self ready to start shooting in RAW and investing in Photoshop/Lightroom.

BTW, I have not been shooting RAW as the old software I have from my old D70s didn't support RAW files.

Do you suggest buying the software outright or getting a yearly membership? When actually out shooting, is there anything I need to keep in mind about RAW?

Thanks in advance....

I find it better shooting digitally in Raw, from the time when I first got a digital camera and started out shooting JPEGs. But I'm a longtime film photographer and for me shooting Raw seemed to be more like shooting film and gives me better quality.

The files are larger. Other than that, I learned to shoot the way I want an image to be, so I do minimal editing anyway. I got Photoshop Elements that was a one time purchase/payment. I don't like to have to sign up for anything that bills or renews continuously.

My camera is DNG so I get the Raw image and an automatically generated JPEG. Sometimes they don't look real different; shooting in lower light is sometimes where I notice more difference. I usually save a copy of an original Raw image as a PSD then as a JPEG and use that because it looks better than what the camera came up with as an automatic JPEG.

Try some experimenting and practicing and see what you get. I noticed your name and thought if you're shooting some sports (I've done hockey) many sports photographers shoot JPEGs because of needing images right away and smaller files being more workable (since photos are often on a team website before the game's even done). But I've shot hockey shooting Raw because these days it's just for my own enjoyment and I'm in no hurry for the photos. At a game, it doesn't make much difference for me. I've shot hockey with 400 ISO film.