All Gimped up but nowhere to go

BananaRepublic

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ive been wonder recently about editing software, up till now I've had Adobe CC and for this past 18 months, because of a bit of an admin screw up I've been able to use this software for free. Anywho that boat has been sunk and Im wondering is there an alternate to CC. Its €12.29 Euro per month here thats $13.63 USD. That would be €147.50 for the year >> $163.50 USD per year.

Im not a pro, I shoot Nikon and use the OS platform and I have other things to pay for is there an alternate that offers the same or near similar results.

If people say Gimp then would I be wrong in saying that can only edit JPGs.

Do you primarily edit raw files or JPEGs?

GIMP is only and RGB raster editor, but it's easy to use GIMP in conjunction with a raw converter. There's no beating LR's DAM capabilities and ease of use overall. However it is very easy to beat LR's image quality output including with free open source software.

You're a MAC user? DarkTable is available for MAC. For Windows RawTherapee and LightZone are free.

There are lots of good and less expensive alternatives. ACDSee is a respectable alternative for far less money and the Pro version has both raw conversion and raster editing together.

The big hangup with GIMP for a long time now is 16 bit file support. Unfortunately in a raster image editor it's still hard to find good software with full 16 bit support. PhotoLine has it but the UI is daunting. GIMP is close and you can download an unstable 16 bit version. I can attest to "unstable."

If you shoot raw and want to avoid Adobe I'd look at either an open source raw converter and then follow-up light tweaking with GIMP if you want to go free or something like ACDSee.