Amateur needing suggestions for a good camera with manual controls

Penguin88

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello, I am an art student and have enjoyed attempting photography for years now. I don't know much about cameras or settings or any of the lingo (although I'd like to learn), but I love taking a subject and trying to come up with interesting shots and compositions. I feel great satisfaction when I can capture an image "just right". I have only ever owned point-and-shoots which I am finding very disappointing and limiting with the general lack of manual controls. If it were up to me, I'd opt to learn to do everything manually. I would love to own a DSLR and learn to take advantage of all the possibilities and versatility there, but it's just not in my budget right now, my being a poor student and all.

Basically, I am looking for a camera in an affordable price range that will serve my purposes better. I'd actually prefer one that is a year or two old and would be available to be purchased used somewhere. Can someone help out a newbie? Any info or advice will be like gold to me. I like to do a lot of macro shots and shots in low-light, so I'd like good customization and performance in these areas. I'd like manual focus (is this available on point and shoots?) and manual controls over light settings (ISO? shutter settings? forgive my ignorance) and hopefully even white balance. I don't like to use flash, I don't like to NEED flash. Good level of optical zoom is important and so is good image stabilization. If it's even possible to change out lenses on a point and shoot that would be an awesome feature as well.