another film vs digital topic

tranceplant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok,

well here is the deal. I am not an expert but when ever I look at pictures I know right away if it's from a digital camera or a film camera. well let's say a good 80% of the time. For some reason I normaly dislike the pictures taken from a digital camera. On the other hand, I love pictures coming out from film. I am not sure why! This is generaly speaking of course :D

I wanted to know if I am the only one with this opinion?

Well, sometimes it's more obvious than others. ;) Some folks are quite talented with B&W digital conversions, but they usually they look inferior to film - and I'm a big B&W fan, so those are easier to pick off.

My preference to film is just enjoying the B&W process from start to finish, including working in the darkroom and smelling the fixer. :lol: I like all that hands-on stuff. Just depends on the type of photography you do, really. Digital makes sense for a lot of people, and the color quality is there in DSLRs. :)

Wow, if you can really tell the difference between a digital SLR photo compared to a negative/print film photo, blown up to 13x19, thats incredible.

That tops every judge we've had at Cincinnati's Tristate Photographic Society's competitions. None of the pros who have judged us can tell the difference, not with today's dSLRs, especially cameras like the d2x and MarkII ds.

I think regular P/S digicams show evidence, but I disagree with you about digital cameras in general. Im not trying to say--"{Jump the film ship to digital" or anything like that. I shoot both digital (nikon d70) and slide film 35mm (nikon f4) and I cannot tell the difference.

Even when working at high ISOs, I can't tell the difference. I doubt that anyone can with a good digital SLR as well. Have you ever viewed a dSLR pic compared to print film pic?

Craig

the truth is, use medium format film or large format film (who wanna compare them to digital ;) ?) :D