Reciprocity and Olympus OM-1n Film Camera

LThatcher

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello everyone. I am new to the Photo Forum. I am just getting into film photography with an Olympus OM-1n camera (vintage 1970's). I have a 50mm and 35mm lens. I have developed one roll of film and see that I may have potential with this camera and the 35mm lens. I have been shooting digital for the last ten years and doing well; I understand photography, exposure triangle, etc. Now I am just looking for a challenge.

My question is, I want to do a long exposure in black and white with Ortho Plus 80 film. I have read that if you do over a 1-second exposure, you must account for reciprocity. The formula I found says Ta = Tm 1.25 (Ta = Adjusted time, and Tm = measured time). But math is not my best suit. I would be using a 10-stop ND filter, so compensation must also be made for this as well. I would probably shoot f/11, and the subject is a waterfall.

I searched the internet and youtube for help, but it was limited. I look forward to your conversation.

Best regards,
LuAnn

Hello everyone. I am new to the Photo Forum. I am just getting into film photography with an Olympus OM-1n camera (vintage 1970's). I have a 50mm and 35mm lens. I have developed one roll of film and see that I may have potential with this camera and the 35mm lens. I have been shooting digital for the last ten years and doing well; I understand photography, exposure triangle, etc. Now I am just looking for a challenge.
My question is, I want to do a long exposure in black and white with Ortho Plus 80 film. I have read that if you do over a 1-second exposure, you must account for reciprocity. The formula I found says Ta = Tm 1.25 (Ta = Adjusted time, and Tm = measured time). But math is not my best suit. I would be using a 10-stop ND filter, so compensation must also be made for this as well. I would probably shoot f/11, and the subject is a waterfall.