Antarctica Photo advice

realcoldboy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Kia Ora I am a professional driller and amatuer Phhotograher looking for advice on taking photo's in Antarctica. I am off there to work on a climate research based drilling program and want to get the most out of this in regards to my photography.
I have never taken photos in a snow enviroment, or in a very cold enviroment before.
Any advice on exposure, equipment, batteries, film type, other specific web links and anything really that any experienced people out there think I need to know would be greatly appreciated.

regards realcoldboy

You need to check with the manufacturers of your equipment.
Antarctica gets very cold. Camera lubricants can freeze and jam the works, batteries can stop working. LCD's can stop working. Film can become brittle. Lots of problems.
There are work-arounds and solutions to all of these things and the equipment manufacturers are the best people to advise you.
For example, Leica has special low-temp lubricants and they will 'prepare' your camera for you.
As always, though, Kodak has a tech sheet on it:

http://www.kodak.com/global/en/professional/support/techPubs/c9/c9.jhtml

Will you be using film or digital?

If you're going to be using digital, I would be very tentative at first, and keep a watch on the exposure values the camera is giving you and compare this with the final results. You may find you need to under expose to bring some detail back into all of that whiteness. But I'm honestly not sure, having never done that myself either.

Good luck and have fun down there!

Cold and dry can increase the build up of static electricity as the film moves through the camera, and the sparks can fog the film.

You may want some sort of viewfinder modification so you don't have to put the camera right up to your face. You don't want the camera stuck to your face like a kid's tongue licking a frozen pole.