Any experience/advice on buying equipment from individuals on Ebay?

Janmc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have never purchased camera equipment from Ebay before.
I am looking at some products there (like new D600 camera) for some great prices from individuals selling.
The claims are often that this is the full US version, unopened (or opened just to check contents), full warranty etc and selling for well under the typical $1999 price I am currently seeing for the camera.

Any advice on buying from a seller like that? Can I trust for everything said to be true?

I've had plenty of experience buying and selling on ebay. I would ask if they are including the original receipt and where it was purchased. Otherwise you will have no warranty. I'm not in the market for a D600 if I was I would probably grab a refurb from Cameta.com. $1700 shipped no tax if you are not in NY and 1 year warranty.. Just my humble opinion..

Check their feedback. Not only their rating, but what they've sold in the past.

If they regularly sell photo gear, that's one thing. If, in the past six months, they've sold a size 6 dress, a set of tires and a coffee machine, I'd be wary.

Also, check their other items for sale. If you see hundreds of listings for all sorts of top-dollar stuff.... all for well-below-market-value prices.... all BuyItNow..... and/or all listed at the same time........RUN AWAY!

I got our current camera on eBay. It was used, but I was able to feel confident in what the seller was telling me about extent of use and condition, etc, as well as his return/refund policy. I've bought other kinds of electronics as well ... I would say the important thing is to know exactly what you are looking for, and to email the seller with questions about absolutely anything that you are uncertain of from the description - almost to the point of being obnoxious. If they are on the level, they won't mind (they might be happier if you condense it into 1 or 2 emails though!).