Aperture Trouble

allsdown

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm having difficulty adjusting my Depth of Field on a Nikon D70. When I play with the aperture the picture only gets really dark or really bright, the background doesn't change focus. Is there another setting on my camera I should adjust or what is going on?

Thank you!

Are you also adjusting the shutter speed to compensate for the change in aperture? What's the light meter indicate?

Got any examples, preferably with exif data?

I was only using the Aperture mode when doing this and that doesnt allow me to also adjust shutter speed. Should I go into Manual mode where I can adjust both? I'm really new to this camera

Distance is also a key component of depth of field - if you have a focused subject close to the camera -and then a far off background, even if you use a small aperture (big f number) like f16 then the background elements will still be out of focus since they are (reletivly speaking) so far away when compared to the foused subject.

That would be my guess of what you are experiencing - but as Goontz suggested if we could have a look at the shots you were trying to take and the exif (aperture, shutter speed, ISO) that you were using we might be able to better understand and advise.

The shutter is on auto and the ISO is also on auto and set at 400

This is what I'm trying to get a picture of, this is taken in auto mode:
DSC_5267.jpg

This is F 11 taken in aperture mode:
DSC_5270.jpg

This is F 3.5 taken in aperture mode:
DSC_5272.jpg

Your exposure bias got bumped down to -5. That's what causing the underexposure. Put it back to 0 and you should be good to go.