Attempting a Small Business

AnimalFreak

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all. I'm an amateur photographer. I got my Canon camera at the end of last summer, but I'm interested in being able to make money off of my growing hobby. Honestly, I'm not even sure if it counts as a 'business' as I'm starting off small. Very small. I live in a tiny town no one's probably even heard of except for those living in it and those forced to interact with it. For now, I'd like to stick with pet photography within the town and hopefully expand some down the road once I get more comfortable with it. The problem is I've no idea where to even start. I've done some research, but I'm probably starting too soon after getting a camera and get rather confused. It seems like everyone explains things in a manner for someone who's already at least somewhat familiar with doing photography professionally.

Basically, I want to offer to be able to go to people's homes and take pictures of their pets. I'm not going to have a studio or anything like that. I might not even start my business until next summer, but I feel like it would be a good job for me. The hardest part will be interacting with people since I have anxiety and am rather antisocial, but it should only be one or two people at a time and it's something I want to get over.