Auto vs. Manual!! Critique your own camera. A Noob to Noob challenge.

Desi

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been reading a thread by a fellow who has been having a hard time with night photography and using manual mode. This inspired me to take this series of photographs as a challenge to myself and to others. Hopefully, it will help you understand something about the difference between the automatic modes on your camera and what a manual exposure can do. Also, if you step up to the challenge, it will teach you a lot about night-time/manual photography and how to use your camera.

First a disclaimer: I am a noob. I used my manual setting for the first time in August 2011. I am very early in the learning process.

The challenge:

1. Take a photo of a house at night or late dusk. Preferably your house so that you can fully control the appearance of the house on different days (what lights are on, etc). Use a tripod or put your camera on something solid.
The first photo must be in fully AUTOMATIC mode. Just put it on A and let the camera do it's thing.
The composition does NOT matter. This is just meant to be a learning exercise about exposure. It doesn't matter if it is a nice house or a pleasing composition.

2. Take another picture of the exact same scene, just change the setting to Program mode, without the flash. Just set it on P and let the camera do it's thing without flash.

3. Now the hard shot. Do the exact same picture but on Manual. Manually set your ISO. Manually set your white balance. Manually set the aperture and shutter speed. Take several shots until you think you've got it right.

4. Post your pictures: List the camera and lens and actual focal length used. Include the following information for each shot: Aperture, shutter speed, ISO, white balance setting.