B&W CC please.

MrsLittle

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Incirlik Air Base, Adana Turkey (thank you Air For
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been working on my B&W conversions and tried to create a hazy look. I was hoping I did a good job with this snapshot of my son. (Ignore the hamster)

Any advice on ways to improve BW photos is greatly appreciated. Didn't realize how tricky it actually is....not just a click of one button.

DSC_2877_edited-3 by Lily Belle Photos, on Flickr

REALLY high key. A little too much for my taste. How was it converted? If using channel mixer, tone down the red a bit and compensate if necc with green. Not too much, mind you. Just so that he looks a little less glowing.

Deff it works well. Just maybe a little too hot. No matter, don't pull off too much. I like the effect overall.

You are right - B&W conversions can be a bit tricky. I have been doing them now for about six months and some are good and some are not so good. If you are interested, you can find a few of them here: Black & White Conversions - a set on Flickr, but enough about me. The one that you have posted looks almost like the original was over exposed - not sure because I can't see it, but this one is a bit washed out in my opinion - nice sharp subject and good bokeh though - but you did chop off his right hand(?). How did you do the conversion? I do mine primarily with Nik Software's Silver Efex Pro 2.

If you use Photoshop, here is a link to a site that looks at a number of ways to do it in PS - 7 Black and White Photoshop Conversion Techniques. If you use Lightroom, then this - Black and white in Lightroom will give you some alternatives using that software.