B/W for critique

scooter2044

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
OK, so while I try to get better aquainted with bird photography I thought I'd submit one of my B/W's. I'm new to DSLR photography and this is from my third try using my camera. Critique away!

cement plant
by Sheila Swindell, on Flickr

The exposure looks good but I really don't know what to look at. It's a bit busy, IMO. Maybe getting to the right so the dark trees along the left take up as much space and a bit closer, maybe even to the edge of the hill.

I'd be interested in some details of the (I guess) tower - behind the tree in the middle, and the area between that tree and the right edge of the photo.

What they said^^^

What is the center of interest?
Why is that tree taking up half the photo, and a tree line obscuring the buildings?

The first thing any viewer does is try to figure out what the photographer is wanting to show them - and I can't figure that out.

About half of the frame is taken up by things that ware NOT the cement plant.

Walk closer. Frame your subject to fill the frame.

BTW: It's going to seem like I'm talking out of two sides of my mouth, but here:

Also, I noticed that many of your other shots are cropping off parts at the edges. Bird wing-tips, etc. Don't do that.

The exposure looks good but I really don't know what to look at. It's a bit busy, IMO. Maybe getting to the right so the dark trees along the left take up as much space and a bit closer, maybe even to the edge of the hill.

I'd be interested in some details of the (I guess) tower - behind the tree in the middle, and the area between that tree and the right edge of the photo.