sm4him

In memoriam
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Website
sm4him.500px.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
It's migration season for the birds, and that has translated to a lot of interesting new birds for me!

Did you know that there are over 50 different species of warblers in North America? At least 40 of those come through the area where I live during migration.

I've been doing avian photography for 3 years now--I don't know whether I just missed this explosion of warblers in my yard the last two years, or if they have just suddenly discovered the glorious insect bounty to be had in my yard.

Regardless, I've added NINE new birds to my backyard list, in just the last week (not all of them were warblers, but the majority were). That brings the total for my backyard to 59 different bird species.
Of the nine new backyard birds this past week, 5 of them were also "lifer" birds (birds I've never seen anywhere before).

Warblers (and Vireos) are really quite difficult to get decent photos of, because they like to hide in the densest part of the trees, or hang out really, really high up in the tallest trees, and they are constantly flitting about--in the time it takes to AF on one, it's long since left that spot.

These may not be award-winning photos, by any stretch of the imagination, but they may be birds some of you haven't seen before, so I thought I'd share.

As always, C&C, general comments and witty banter are all appreciated.

1. American Redstart, F
Sept13_AmRedstartF_8985lowres.jpg

2. Magnolia Warbler
Sept13_MagnoliaW_8974lowres.jpg

3. Chestnut-Sided Warbler
Sept14_ChestnutSidedW_9050lowres.jpg

4. EXTREMELY Rare Fuchsia-Breasted Warbler...or possibly an Eastern Kingbird that got into the pokeberries. :D
Sept14_EastKingbird_9034lowres.jpg

5. Wilson's Warbler
Sept17_WilsonsWarbler_9203lowres.jpg

6. Tennessee Warbler, F (which, oddly enough, are only in Tennessee during migration)
Sept19_TNWarbler_9392lowres.jpg

7. Yellow-Throated Warbler