Bamboo+Tracks, C&C

aeota

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
2310062.jpg

23104021.jpg

1. I think is too distracting with the rippling water being the majority of the picture. I'm not sure how I could've fixed this distraction issue, though.

2. Yeah, train tracks are probably -really- overdone. I did a low-sky crop to put the focus on the worn and unused tracks themselves.

I wish I could've pulled more detail from these two, but I don't know how to go about it. Also, I'm still learning exposure so bare with me.

Thanks.

If you hadn't told me that there was rippling water in the first shot, I never would have known. It looked like just a jumble of sticks. I thought it was a closeup of a nest or something. I kinda like the second one, but there's something about it that's a little off and I can't quite put my finger on it. Not a bad photo, though.

The tracks dont do much for me but I like the bamboo. I think it has interest as an abstract. I like the colors and patterns. I think if it were, say an 8x10 it could be very attractive, sort of like an impressionist painting.

Maybe if I'd used a slower shutter speed for the first one, the water would've blurred for a nice contrast? I still don't own a tripod, though, so it would've been difficult.

#1, WAY too busy.

#2 you're onto something there. A little better lighting or setup would be a step in the right direction, also try a few different angles, like shooting close to one side points towards the center of the tracks off in the horizon.

1. 1/40 f5.6

2. 1/25 f16

Both shot with a Tamren 28-300mm macro. I also own a Canon EF-S 18-55mm, but I'm not sure at all when I should use each lens. I've just been using the 28-300mm for everything.

I understand what aperture, shutter speed and ISO are - but not the typical values of each I should be using. Still unsure of how I could've pulled more detail from these two.

Thanks.

Camera Maker: Canon
Camera Model: Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL