Beautiful Little Girl but OMG horrible background!

cfingram

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This little girl's smile is goergous and the aunt absolutely without a doubt wanted this photo no matter what. I'm fairly new to photography, I have a lot to learn. I couldn't bring myself to just give it as-is and I gave it my best shot to edit it and turned it to BW so that it wouldn't look so bad...she LOVED it and was thrilled to death about the edit.

How's the edited photo? This is my first time editing to this extend with PSE6.

Thank you in advance for your CCs!!! Carole

p.s. I'm NEW here and look forward to making friends!

BEFORE - SOOC - sharpened for web
2766982778_71806ae21e_o.jpg

AFTER
2763348441_fce166234d_o.jpg
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3063/2763348441_fce166234d_o.jpg

Beautiful smile indeed!

I agree about the color background... the B/W however is a big improvement but I'm not sure I"m liking the patterned cloning tool if that's what you used? I think I would've just blurred the background a lot more than the original is.

I do like the cloned-out background, and the little girl's smile is excellent. Would it work in color?

BTW, you may have gone a bit overboard on the sharpening.

I think I might have gone more for a blur and less for the funky cloning thing.

God... trash can and all, eh? :lol: That has to be frustrating.

Thanks guys for all your help and comments. The little girl just quickly passed me and I asked "Can I take a picture" and she said YES and she posed immediately, I didn't have time to look at the background and when I loaded up the pictures on my pc, I was SOOOOOO dissapointed about the background but wow, what a cute smile! It's my first "heavy" edit, I've never had to fix a background to that extent. I did "over" do the sharpening but only for web purposes, I didn't sharp the original quite as much, it's half that :).