Become A Professional Photographer (Not Easy)

shuttercraft

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
mwilbourn.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I just joined the forum, yes that means another noob.....:D
Introduction

As a professional photographer I get many questions. Some of the most common questions are what camera is best to buy or how much money you can make with photography. These are not the questions you should be asking. There is a lot to think about before making the jump and turn this little hobby of yours into a job. By the end of this guide you should have an idea of the challenges you will face if you want to start a photography business.
How I Got Started

I am totally self taught, I am only 17 years old and I am making good money with photography. I started with my first camera at the age of 12, it was a old Polaroid that my dad gave me. I never went anywhere without that little camera! Today I have came along way from shooting with a little Polaroid and I now own a Canon 5Dmk2. This camera was a big investment, I worked drywall five days a week for a year to buy this camera and some studio gear! I teach photography workshops for the Southern Oregon Guild and my local high school. I live on my own now, my house is a huge remodeled restraint building. This place is two a story complex and the top floor is my photography studio. I live in the bottom, I worked with the owner of the building to turn the bottom into a house. I make most of my money on weddings and portraits, but I do lots of photography for myself as well.

Why did I get started in photography?

I guess I just love photography, doing what you love will make you happy! I have a extreme case of ADHD and photography is one thing that keeps me of sound mind. I feel like this is something that I want to do for the rest of my life.
Is this something you really want?