Before & After

FattyMcJ

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So...I did a shoot for a local bunch of Mary Kay consultants last weekend and this is one of the more dramatic "changes" from the more than 15 women I shot that day.

I'd like some feedback on the processing of the (obvious) after shot, if it's too much, if it's "unreal".

I'd also like some feedback on the before shot. I was specifically asked to "not do anything fancy to make them look better" so as to showcase the makeup. I don't think I could have gotten the shot any more ... for lack of a better term "ugly". Bad lighting, bad composition...I broke all the rules. Is it too much of a contrast for a Before & After shot like this? Did I make her look too ugly?

salinabeforeafterweb1.jpg

Thanks for looking and for your comments, in advance.

-Jason

I'm a newbie but IMO Great job, If I were from Mary Kay I'd love it!

I think it works. The only thing that I would change is the background for the second picture. I think most consumers would thing the changes in the second photo really were because of make up, but the gradient back ground kind of pronounces the superior lighting to me. I don't know if consumers would see it that way, but I'm trying to think like a consumer. When I see commercials with before and after shots I'm always more convinced if the photo's look closer to the same conditions. I do think the lighting difference on the subject is necessary, though.

Edit: I just wanted to say that if you were only using one light then you obviously didn't have much choice on the background. I know I explained that in detail, but just to be clear I don't think it's a big deal at all. Just a little something I would change if I had the option. Over all I think it's really good and there's a strong possibility that I can't get out of the photographer's shoes and into the consumer's.