Beginner Equipment Questions.

CK Studios

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello. I am a beginner just getting into using a camera for photographing Miniatures to post online .
I’ve read a lot about setting up a DSLR Camera for macro photography.
I currently own a Sony A300 with the stock lens set up .
I’m looking at buying a new camera with the Black Friday deals .
For macro photography of Miniatures ( approx 3” tall ) would I benefit by buying either the Cannon T6i or the Nikon 3400 over the A300 I have now ?
If so which camera should I purchase . I read that the Nikon has an updated processor system over the T6i . But I’m not sure how that will affect what I’m using it for .
Any help is greatly Appreciated.

Umm, what don't you like about your A300 ? ... or why do you want to upgrade ?

Hello. I am a beginner just getting into using a camera for photographing Miniatures to post online .
I’ve read a lot about setting up a DSLR Camera for macro photography.
I currently own a Sony A300 with the stock lens set up .
I’m looking at buying a new camera with the Black Friday deals .
For macro photography of Miniatures ( approx 3” tall ) would I benefit by buying either the Cannon T6i or the Nikon 3400 over the A300 I have now ?
If so which camera should I purchase . I read that the Nikon has an updated processor system over the T6i . But I’m not sure how that will affect what I’m using it for .
Any help is greatly Appreciated.
I believe the Nikon D3400 to have the better sensor. Either Nikon or Canon has good Macro lenses. And many feel the the third party makers have good macros as well. Should look at button positions. Some don't like Nikon layouts. And of course some don't like Canon. Both being entry level they don't have as many direct controls as the more expensive cameras. I have better more expensive camera bodies. But still carry a D3300 for my light weight kit for my work backpack.

Last edited: