Beginner in search of the right camera for capturing images of aquatic life

AquaticArts

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all! This is my first post here, but I am sure it will be far from the last. I am an aquarium hobbyist that has built a fast-growing business selling aquatic animals online. We carry over 100 species, with more being added every week. However, all of our pictures are being taken on an iPhone 5S (Gasp).

I bought a Nikkon P520, but the auto-focus is painfully slow. Absolutely not going to work. The iPhone 5s doesn't have the highest resolution or best lens, but it has a very fast auto-focus, and I can focus on specific depths or fish very quickly by tapping the screen. For what I am trying to photograph, getting the picture at all is very difficult, because fish and invertebrate do not pose for you. I have taken some very exceptional pictures of many species that have no good pictures of them in existence, but I am ready for something better than an iPhone.

I need something that can auto-focus VERY fast, ideally has a touchscreen that I can choose the focal point with very quickly, and deals well with fast-moving subjects. Many of the fish I want to photograph are still for less than 1/2 second before violently changing direction and swimming somewhere else. Another option I have pondered is getting a very high framerate HD video camera, and using individual frames for my pictures. This would be MUCH easier than attempting pictures for extremely fast-moving fish.