Beginner needs some help

chiyeung

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello! Guys! I am a beginning photographer. I am 16 so I don't have too much cash to start so I plan to save up this summer. I got into photography with my really old 4 mega pixel camera with a 7x zoom. Even Though it is such a bad camera I was able to get some decent shots. (www.chiyeunglau.carbonmade.com) I was planning to buy a new camera on amazon but I am not sure if I should get it. It cost 220 dollars and it is a Canon PowerShot SX100IS 8MP Digital Camera with 10x Optical Image Stabilized Zoom non DSLR
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0..._m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1XVW72BG4VRE6BDNPVJ3
or jack up 300 dollars for a canon powershot proseries s5 which is a DSLR not including batteries etc. Thanks in advanced!

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
i'd say get a d40 kit. 500 or less if you do it right. beginner SLR

I don't know if i should buy it or not. I dont know about the d40 Atreus I'm going to only make around 500-700 this summer so I don't want to go over my budget. I need some money for the school year also. :confused:

It looks like you have a good eye for photography. A 4 mp camera isn't bad at all. I wouldn't spend your money on another non DSLR. Keep what you have, are you able to change settings on that camera manually (like the aperture, shutterspeed and ISO?)

Thank You Very Much Julie. The digital i have right now is very small, the lcd is maybe only 1 inch. I am able to change the Iso from 50-400. I can not find shutter speed or aperture. Though I am able to change effects, image sizes, exposure, lighting. Only problem is that it is over 4 years old and I dropped it once so it's battery dies out easily even though it is rechargeable.
If buying a non DSLR isnt worth it, then I'll wait until i can afford one.