Beginner with Lens Question

s10lowrider1994

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Total beginner here with a quick question (probably a dumb one, but a question none the less). Just picked up our first DSLR, bought it used, and it came with some extra lenses. What we purchased was a Canon Rebel XTi and it included the tyipcal 18-55mm kit lens and two zoom lenses. They are the 55-250mm IS 4-5.6 and the 75-300mm 4-5.6. Both are just the typical zoom lenses you find everywhere but it doesnt seem like there is a point in keeping both. Is there a certain purpose for each that makes it necessary to have both? If so why? If not which one would you keep and why? Thanks in advance for any info.

This is a good question...you might search the web for reviews of each...for example...Canon EF-S 55-250/4-5.6 IS Lens Review - photo.net and for the 75-300 here: Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III USM Lens Review.

Not sure if the 75-300 that you have is the Mk. III or the IS version, if it is not the IS version, then, if it was me, I would keep the 55-250mm because then you have everything covered from 18mm to 250mm. I am not sure that you would notice the loss of the "50mm" keeping the 250 over the 300. I suspect, I would also keep the 55-250mm even if the 75-300 was the IS version, simply because it covers that "complete" range. A lot depends on what you want to shoot, but from what I read, the 75-300 does not come out favourably in my mind. Ask yourself this question, given the types of photography that you do, or would like to do, which lens would you buy if you were trying to decide which one you wanted - maybe the answer to that will help you in your decision. HTH.

Cheers,

WesternGuy