Best camera for candid shots of children?

lissylove

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi friends,

I am a toddler teacher at an early education center and I have recently taken to photographing the kids. I'm really enjoying it and would like to get my own camera instead of having to use the school's each time. I've been using a 16 MP Canon Powershot, which is pretty decent, but I'd like one that's a little bit more adequate for photographing children. If you all could recommend a camera that suits my wants and needs, which are as follows, that would be great:

1) Fast response time. This is VITAL. I am so tired of getting useless shots that could have been great had they been taken a second earlier.
2) Kid mode. I don't know exactly what this means but I'm assuming good focus despite fast movement.
3) High-ish MP to facilitate ease of editing in Photoshop. At least 14 would be great but I can go lower if someone convinces me that it's okay.
4) Good quality in indoor light.

One thing I DON'T need are settings that make a pictures fish eye or black and white or sepia or whatever. I can go back and do that in Photoshop. Looking to spend no more than $300, obviously preferably less :D.

I tried to post a sample but for some reason it's not working.

Thanks, all!

get a used entry level dslr.

nikon - 3100
canon - xs
sony alpha 200

This is about all you could afford but they would not be much faster then what you have unless you get a better lens then the kit which would cost you an extra $100 at least. I would recommend adding a 50mm f1.8. There is a buy/sell section on here you could browse.

get a used entry level dslr.

nikon - 3100
canon - xs
sony alpha 200

This is about all you could afford but they would not be much faster then what you have unless you get a better lens then the kit which would cost you an extra $100 at least. I would recommend adding a 50mm f1.8. There is a buy/sell section on here you could browse.