Bicycle and Haybale (Constructive Criticism Please)

Farmclicker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I normally do not do Black and White Photos, but for some reason this one just seemed to beg for it. I have a color rendition too, but I thought it looked drabby in color, but for some reason, black and white seemed to make the photo a little more interesting. The fine digital photo shop masters on here can be the judge however.

The photo is of a bike I found in my Grandmother's old sheep shed, while the basket came from her old garage. The flowers contained in the basket were cut that morning from flowers on her yard and the hale bales...though I am a farmer, the hay bales are not mine. We only do silage on this farm, and so the hay bales came from my neighbors farm early one morning last week.

Thanks for any and all feed back.

7913058992_2919521058_c.jpg
[/URL] Bike and Haybale BW by tsj5874[/IMG]

I do not really "get" the pairing of the old-looking bicycle with the new,modern, round hay bale...to me these new round bales are...super-modern....the first advance in hay-handling since the tedder made it to North America, and before that the "bale wagon"...I dunno...I suppose if the intent is to pair the OLD (the bike) with the "new" (giant, massive round bales) then the shot has some merit. As far as the B&W conversion...well..it has a LOT of gray tones in it. I think maybe one of the B&W creative filters, likie the green filter, or red filter, and some contrast tweaks might have given it a bit more differentiation among the strong, predominating gray tonal values. To me it needs a bit more of what is called local contrast. Compositionally, the bike and the bale both seem just a wee bit constrained within the edges of the frame...maybe a bit more of a relaxed framing would help???