Black Kite in flight

lostprophet

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Some shots of Black Kites in flight

CLICK IMAGES FOR HIGH RES VERSIONS

Wow, that first was is spectacular! Love the last, too!

I agree, one and three are great. Two would be better if the primary flight feathers weren't all skewampus.

wow... those are amazing what kind of equipment are you shooting with?

Yeah, these are awesome! It's extremely difficult (for me at least) to get shots like this - unless he decides to do his maneuvers only a few meters away from me that is. ;)

I like 1 and 2 best. 2 is especially interesting because I think it shows how the design (of the bird) reacts to and deals with stress. I know, I'm a hopeless engineer - I can't help it. :D

BTW, the owls on your hardpoint site are magnificent!!!

Are these taken using tracking? If so what camera body is this?

A couple of questions here Andy... What shooting mode do you use to get sharp focuses? For excample, when set on AI servo and AF point selection is set to auto does the camera do a good job of getting the focus right? Or do you select a specific AF point and track the object with that point while keeping it in AI servo. Oooor.... do you set your camera on manual focus and just hit a continous burst until the object goes through your DOF (a much harder way of getting good shots it would seem to me)?

Yeah, these are awesome! It's extremely difficult (for me at least) to get shots like this - unless he decides to do his maneuvers only a few meters away from me that is. ;)

I like 1 and 2 best. 2 is especially interesting because I think it shows how the design (of the bird) reacts to and deals with stress. I know, I'm a hopeless engineer - I can't help it. :D

BTW, the owls on your hardpoint site are magnificent!!!

Are these taken using tracking? If so what camera body is this?