Bulk Film Loader ... tips?

Josh66

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
OK, So my bulk film loader (this one) and 100' roll of Fuji Pro 160S just came in (I got some reusable canisters too, of course)...

I've never done this before, but the directions seem easy enough (though I don't think they were originally written in English...). It sounds like they want me to cut the corners off of the end of the film before I feed it into the loader. Looking at it, it doesn't look like that is entirely necessary...

The main thing I'm wondering is ... I don't know what to expect when I open up the can of film. Is the end going to be taped down or anything?

Is there some kind of spool that I have to keep or discard?

Should I wear gloves, or will that make it harder to work with?

Since the amount of the roll that I'll actually be touching is very small compared to the whole 100 feet (probably only a foot or so?) do I even have to worry about messing it up?

It doesn't sound very hard, but I figured I better ask if there are any noob mistakes I might be able to avoid... The worst possible thing I can see happening is dropping the roll of film and letting it unwind all over the floor, lol. I think that would be pretty bad.

Just waiting for it to get dark now... No changing bag, so I'll just go in the bathroom with the lights off once it's dark. Should be fine...
I guess I'll sit in there for a minute or two after it gets dark just to make sure I can't see any light coming in under the door.

I don't think I have to worry about that, but worst case - I can tape the edges of the door with a few layers of duct tape or something...

Last edited:
Make sure you open and load the film into the bulk loader in the dark. As in the dark-dark-dark!!! Nightime is best, or a changing bag.