Burj Al Arab - Dubai

Yvonne_Dubai

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I went out early this morning to make sure there was nobody there to spoil my shots :) I thought I'd show you some images of Dubai, or more specific, the Burj Al Arab. It's one of those spots where bus loads of tourists get dropped off for 5 minutes to be able to take 100 pictures before they hop back on the bus. But... it was just me this morning... bliss! (The Burj Al Arab is the only self proclaimed 7 star hotel in the world, with a standard room starting at $1700 per night)

Ok, so this morning was my first try with Manual settings (don't laugh, I'm still learning). I really enjoyed playing around with it, but to be honest, I didn't do very well. I shot 91 pictures and there are only 2 worth showing you. Well, that's not exactly true, but only two that you might like. I'm having another go at critiquing my own work too, so again, patience is key ;) . Thanks again for any comments.

All pictures are taken with my Sony DSC HX1 that cannot change lenses but does have Manual setting. I didn't use a flash or tripod for any of the pictures, but I did put the camera on the bridge for #1. The sun was out and it was quite bright so I put the ISO at its lowest which is 125 on my camera. None of the pictures have been edited as I don't own and don't know how to use proper editing programmes.

f/3.2, ISO 125, WB manual (maybe I should have set that on Auto?) Exposure time 1/2000 (camera doesn't always let me change that for some reason)
DSC02453.jpg