Business Opportunity?

GeremyM

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a student photographer. I emailed one of the local pet shelters if I could come in to take candid photo's of the dogs there. I received an email back saying they had an event on June 8th that they'd like me to come out to. I already told them that every photo I took, I'd give it to them for free. I'm still not going to charge them but I was thinking if it would be a good or bad idea if I came, took photo's and handed out business cards or flyers to the people attending the event in case they wanted prints from me. Should I inform the organization that I want to hand out business cards? Should I just take the photo's send them to the organization and be happy my photo's are being used? Or just take the photo's and if someone want's a print or picture have them give me their email so I can send them the photo's?

Running a photography business rarely has anything to do with taking photos. Anyone can put and click a button.

Promote yourself and interact with everyone.

Who do you think they will remember more.

A photographer who was uptight taking pictures, or a photographer who was outgoing and mingling and being a part of everything going on?

Depends on the nature of the event, I'm assuming that its a bring your pets kind of event.

That being the case I think that it would be prudent to try and get business cards and then be able to hand them out to the owners. The shelter is already getting your shots for free so you've a potential there to sell to the customers direct. There are a few thoughts though:

1) What is the shelter using your photos for? Are they just for promotional purposes or are they going to expect to sell to the owners themselves.

2) What sale policies are there - the shelter might have some restrictions commercially over what is and isn't allowed at the event (sometimes voluntary or donation based companies do have these restrictions).