Buying first DSLR+lenses...help please!

Sphenny

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Howdy all, I've been reading up on my DSLRs recently. For the past 5years I've been using a canon S2IS and I've finally saved up enough cash to pick up my fist DSLR. The tough part is the decision, which camera and which lenses.

Now I'm not going to beat around the bush, I'm a camera amateur, I'd like to take more photos but I have difficulty with this camera taking indoor shots. I've also had to really play with the settings to get any sort of action shot....ever....to work. Anyways, here is what I've been debating on to step up my photography game!

3 cameras, $2000CAN budget:
- Canon T3is with 2-3 good lenses
- Canon 60D with 1-2 good lenses
- Nikon 7000D with 1 lens

After playing around with them in the store I ruled out the D7000, I just didn't like the feel or handling of it and although I'm not at 100% yet, I'm leaning towards the 60D due to the movie capabilities. I have a nice sony camcorder that will record in 720p but the canon would be a nice backup for short, spur of the moment videos.

So here is my debate with the 60D, which lenses to get? Do I get a kit and pick up an extra lens or should I get the body and one really good lens? Or should I go used and get an excellent lens? Before I list what I've been looking at here are my uses:

- 60% random family photography (2 young kids), right now I do really only outdoor photos because I haven't been able to work the camera for really good indoor stuff. However, if I could, it would probably be a 60/40 split indoor to outdoor.

- 30% still photos and macro photos for online forums and computer product reviews. Here is an example album of a build. There are a wide variety of photos taken in there that I wish would have been better.

Folding pictures by jfenwick80 - Photobucket

- 10%: Other, zoo shots, camping trip art photos, etc... more just spur of the moment randoms when I get an artsy urge.