Buying new camera...Advice!?

arond24

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Greetings all! This question likely has been posed a million times but, could I get some quick consensus on a entry level dslr? I would like to keep cost relatively low. is it ok to buy used? any recommended lenses to jump in right away with?

id like to stay below $1000 for camera and any lenses needed
and id primarily be shooting things like engagement, family and newborn photos

thanks so much in advance!

Last edited:
What are you thinking about for price? And do you have a preference on a camera manufacturer yet or are you open to any suggestions? A budget would be a great start for us to be able to help you.

I edited original post but would like to stay $1000 and hopefully less than that...I am a relatively new photographer but will be starting to do some paying gigs like I said with engagement, family type photos...I don't have a brand specifically in mind, I have heard the common thought process though to try and stay with a canon/Nikon and I cant go wrong...

maybe a reference for cameras ive been looking at would help , new and used, ive looked at canon 40 and 60d, rebel eos t5...

The things you plan on shooting, makes me wonder if you want to start a business. Both Nikon and Canon, have very good entry level cameras. Go to a shop and try both out, and buy the one that fits best to your grip.

Investing a few hundred dollars in a good flash is also an option. Good 2nd hand flashes are available at good prices.