c&c on my first pictures ever?

munchkinfu

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my very first time ever visiting the site (as well as posting, obviously), and judging from the participation by other members, I think that this could be an excellent place for me to learn photography.

I bought my first camera just a few days ago (a Nikon D3000), and I'm trying to get the feel for it. I'm starting to get a feel for how everything works, but I have this terrible problem where I have no idea how my photos actually turn out. I'm incapable of comparing my work to other people's, for some reason or another. So I am humbly requesting that you assess the first 4 pictures I've ever bothered uploading, hopefully helping me establish the fundamentals of good photos.

Disclaimer: I'm not sure what's an acceptable size/format for my pictures, so enlightenment in that area would also be nice.

ball.jpg

This is a ball with feathers on it.

editedmorbo.jpg

This is a picture of my cat. I'm aware that it's not very well-focused, but I thought I'd post it anyway.

morbo.png

Here's another picture of my cat. I'm more pleased with it, but again, I don't know how good it actually is.

parkinglot.png

I was really just messing around with some blur effects and wondered how it looked. As you can (hopefully) see, it's a picture of a parking lot.

The pictures are all pretty uninteresting and underexposed to me. In the last photo, although it is somewhat of a boring shot, you almost achieved an affect called tilt-shift on accident. It makes the scene look like a miniature diorama by narrowing the depth of field artificially. There are lenses that do this optically as well, but it can also be done with photoshop.