C&C please!

FoxyShorty

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
This is my first time posting an image. I'm a beginner, and was just playing around with my engagement ring and a cala lily. I know the shot isn't great, and would appreciate your C&C, please. I don't know yet how to edit out parts of the photo that shouldn't be there (the dead flowers in fore and background). Thanks for your critique and any tips!

039.jpg

we need some studio pros here to tell whats wrong.

I'll try, but I'm no studioman.

so there is something on with the focus. You should try decreasing your aperture or manually focusing.
Then you need a more controlled flash. I guess this is pop-up flash isn't it? Try using a softbox, could be self made just google it.

Don't get me wrong. It's a nice image, just some corrections to close it to perfect.
Patching away the flowers?

would be more technically correct to remove them. You have photoshop or something
Nice composition, color and noise well handled.
cheers

that is a beautiful ring. It would look really nice if the dead flowers weren't dead and you zoomed out so you saw them. I'm not really that good with up close photo's though. It is a very beautiful ring looks a little similar to the one I'm planing on proposing to my gf with

Canosonic, yes, it's definitely soft. And I wish the ring was sharper and stood out some more. It was taken with pop up flash, I will look in to the soft box, thanks for that tip!! And thanks for the compliment as well :) I just have a demo of Light Room right now, and haven't been able to play around on it to much lately.

Morpheuss, haha, I'm not a big fan of the dead flowers either. The bouquet was taking it's last breath of life, but the cala lily was still nice enough to play around with. I had cropped the photo because I didn't want the deadies in there. Have fun with your proposal, and congrats! :cheers: