Cactus Triggers

pongerts

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone!

I've got a question.

I'm planning to buy Cactus Remote triggers for my Nikon D60 and Vivitar 285HV flashes. (I'm buying them off ebay)

My question is; Are there differences between models of transmitter that i should buy?
Because in ebay, I tried searching and I found many kinds. (i.e. Cactus triggers for olympus, sunpak, sigma).

and there are also different kinds of receivers. Are there any particulars that i should take note?

here's the link BTW.

<LINK>http://stores.ebay.com/Gadget-Infinity_Digital-Camera_Flash_Wireless-Trigger_W0QQfsubZ2214405</LINK>

and also, do i buy the cactus trigger off ebay or gadget infinity??
It's my first time to buy online. :)

thanks guys!

As long as the camera has an ISO hotshoe, (basically anything but a Minolta or Sony) you should be fine with any of them *except* for some odd trigger voltage issues with some. That should be fairly well explained in the description on GI's site, and only applies to the receivers, not the transmitters.

While we're on the topic of triggers and unusual hotshoes, anybody know a way to trigger a Minolta 5200i from a Cactus? I'm about to order some Sunpaks, but I've gotten good at working the controls on the Minolta in the dark, so it would be great to have it available for off-camera stuff too.

You might be able to get a shoe adapter for your Minolta so the Cactus triggers will work.

Your best bet is to send them an e-mail and see what they suggest. I had to send them an e-mail, and they responded pretty quickly, and were quite helpful.

The transmitter should match the receivers. In the case of Cactus, you purchase the kit that contains both 1 transmitter and 1 receiver. Then you buy extra receivers as necessary. I like my Cactus V2s and they are good for a budget... be aware that there are reports of some units arriving broken or with issues. Test them out when you get them.