Camera Advice for someone starting out

rogue

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm extremely new to photography and would absolutely love to learn the art of it. I was wondering if you could advise me on which camera to pick -- I have had no experience except for chasing my friends with disposables. Mainly I'm interested in making black and white photos of "artsy" things but.. that may be too soon for me to think about? Anyway, camera advise?

I would say get a digital and get photoshop cs2. you can get something like a 5mp sony cybershot that has manual controls and excellent optics for around 220.00
http://www.steves-digicams.com/2004_reviews/w1.html

youd be suprised what you can do with that camera.....

Or you can save up and get a dslr for 700 - 1200 $

If you plan on seriously getting into it, you can bypass the 200.00 point and shoot, but there is a middle road....

you can buy a good point and shoot used for like 150 and learn on it and with photoshop... it will take you a few months to get good.... in the meantime you are saving money, expiramenting and researching dslrs....

when you have the money you can buy the dslr, and give the P&S to your wife ...... lol

Heh, good thing I used to teach photoshop so I know my way around that program. So.. for starting out I guess I'll be getting the sony cybershot then later on advance to more "advanced" cameras.

Hi Rogue. Welcome to the forum. I agree with Thorhammer in that you can start with a mid-range point and shoot camera and do a lot of work with it. There are amazing photographers on here who use a point and shoot (Verbal :hail:).

The advantage of this is before you invest a lot of money in a DSLR you will have a better idea of features that you want to look for.

As for cameras..... well.... Canon of course! :lol:

Canon Digital Cameras